Book Review: The Maze Runner Series Welcome To The Maze

By Aryanna Zavala, Clarion Contributor

You should read The Maze Runner series by James Dashner. The series is made up of three books: The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials, and The Death Cure. The series is based on a boy named Thomas who gets put into a maze and he has no recollection of his past. He and many other boys discover that they have to find a way out of the maze. This discovery leads them on a very difficult journey that carries the characters throughout all three novels. With only the memory of their name and their mission they set out on a troublesome journey that will unveil many dark secrets and revelations.


I am currently completing the third installment of the series and I have liked the books so far. They have something for everyone, from mystery to action packed scenes. In the beginning the novels may seem to progress slowly but never fear they gradually get more intense. By the end of each book you will want to read the next installment immediately.

The Maze Runner series is not anything like the other books out there, such as The Hunger Games and Divergent, except they all are set in dystopias. The books are told from a male point of view unlike The Hunger Games and Divergent. The books are well-written and it unknowingly draws you in until you finish each book.

Overall, the books are definitely worth the time and money to read. The books are available at nearly every retailer and are priced reasonably. From one reader to another, I hope you enjoy the books as much as I have.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s